CM12–Testdbupgrade and SQL collation

Today I have been working on preparing for an CM12 upgrade. As part of the preflight tests I always do a setup.exe /testdbupgrade <databasename> on a copy of the database prior to running the actual upgrade.

Due to space constrains on the server in question I had to copy the backup to another server. Same version (SQL 2008 R2 SP1 CU4).

 

To make a long story short my testdbupgrade failed and I was a little worried but I recopied the backup file, restored the database and tried again. Still a failure. In ConfigMgrSetup.log I found

image

The important line is ERROR: SQL Server error: [42000][468][Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 10.0][SQL Server]Cannot resolve the collation conflict between “Danish_Norwegian_CI_AS” and “SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS” in the not equal to operation.

So the problem is really that my SQL wasn’t really identical and the setup program does not test to see if the right collation has been selected for the instance. I have reported the issue to Microsoft.

I guess the lesson is to spend a few more moments looking at the log prior to trying again.

This entry was posted in Configuration Manager and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

